1. Health
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

In-Depth Overview of Hysterectomy Surgery


Updated June 09, 2014

4 of 9

Types of Hysterectomy
In-Depth Overview of Hysterectomy Surgery

Types of Hysterectomies

A.D.A.M @ About.com
There are multiple types of hysterectomy surgeries. A hysterectomy can mean simply the removal of the uterus, or it can mean removal of the uterus, cervix and ovaries. Also, it can be performed in several ways. First, let's look at the types of hysterectomies:

Radical hysterectomy The uterus, cervix and ovaries are removed.

Total hysterectomy The uterus and the cervix are removed.

Subtotal or partial hysterectomy The upper portion of the uterus is removed, leaving the cervix and ovaries intact.

And, there are several ways the surgery can be performed -- some methods more invasive than others:

Laparoscopic Assisted Hysterectomy This is any hysterectomy using the vaginal approach with assistance from laparoscopic instruments inserted through tiny incisions in the abdomen.

Vaginal Hysterectomy This hysterectomy is performed entirely through an incision made in the vagina.

Abdominal Hysterectomy This hysterectomy is performed using an incision in the abdomen that can be either vertical from the area of the pubic bone up toward the belly button, or it may be horizontal along the bikini line.

Everything You Need To Know About Hysterectomy Surgery

  1. About.com
  2. Health
  3. Surgery
  4. Surgery for Women
  5. What Are the Types of Hysterectomies

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.